Make a Natural First Aid Kit with Herbs

Make a Natural First Aid Kit with Herbs

July 21, 2012

Home remedy kits can be self-contained healing in a box. Here’s what you need to make your own.

by Susan Belsinger
December/January 2007

first aid kit Photo by Susan Belsinger

When I was in seventh grade, I made a first-aid kit for a science project. It wasn’t very big, and it was rather basic, consisting mainly of adhesive bandages, first-aid cream, gauze, sticky white tape, scissors and iodine. Over the years, my idea of first aid has changed considerably. Some of the basic items still have a place in my kit today, but many of my remedies have changed with experience and with my continuing herbal education. I have learned to make poultices, salves, teas, tinctures and synergistic blends of herbs and essential oils. I also took an herbal apprentice class with Rosemary Gladstar, which was an amazing learning experience on the uses of medicinal herbs.

I used to keep my homemade herbal products in different parts of the house, depending on their uses, but I soon realized it would be much easier to find things when I needed them if they were stored together in one place. Once I had gathered the ingredients and supplies, I began searching for the perfect storage container. I considered art-supply boxes, tackle boxes, cosmetic boxes and sewing boxes, but finally settled on a heavy-duty, three-tiered plastic toolbox. I also have a smaller version of the kit containing my most essential items that I carry when I travel. (Read Full Article)

Leave a Reply

